Bandwagon Jumping

In the past two or three months I’ve tried to juggle the responsibilities of a good household engineer with that of a responsible listener, loving sister, wife and mother. Of course I’ve tried well beyond the last two months but it is in these last few months where it has become important to concentrate. And for me concentration is difficult at best when I’m pulled in all directions.

My sister-in-law is going through a crisis of her own and I won’t say “of her own making” but I’m thinkin’ it. Anyway, that’s beside the point. She’s hurting and in turn she’s hurting those around her, mainly my brother. I’ve had to reconcile the woman that I’ve known for the last 15 years (yeah but have you REALLY known her my mind asks) with the woman she is lately. It’s hard and I go back and forth with it all. But that’s another Oprah, which incidentally, is her favorite show. Go figure. Now I’m just sniping, I’ll move on.

Bandwagon Jumping-In the last few months I’ve found some new blogs I enjoy, trying to find a way to get some perspective. And while I enjoy these new blogs, I understand that reading them and actually utilizing the advice found there are two different things. I can read the concepts and understand them but when it comes to implementing them I get lazy. As Me’shell Ndegecello once said in a NPR interview, “I’m not that deep.”

Listen to me, I’m blathering. I know there is a “100- or-whatever-things that make me happy” meme going around the blogosphere and I’m going to participate because I should remind myself to smile, that life doesn’t have to be a soap opera 24/7 and that I can always wallow in the soap opera stuff if need be, it’ll be there tomorrow.

100-or-whatever things that make me happy:
1. The first 99 things could easily be music but then what is the point of this exercise? I’ll be more specific-choral music. Listening to a choir always give me chills.

2. When Georgie cocks her head in a “Whatcha talking about Jo?!” manner.

3. When I find paper money in stuffed in a coat that I haven’t worn in a while.

4. When I pick up a ringing phone and I hear, “HI TATA!!!”

5. Walking into the public library and finding the perfect book.

6. Smiling at someone and having them smile back in return.

7. Saying “Hola Chico Esquela!” to S and seeing him grin.

8. My iPod. Oh yes, my iPod. May it keep on running…

9. Color. Bright bursts of color on a page, on a wall, on a movie screen…I love it.

10. The rhythmic beat of a drum.

11. Tap dancing.

12. A beautifully held note in an aria.

13. The first step into the water, feeling the sand beneath my feet coupled with the water rushing up over my feet.

14. The splash of a wave against my body as I swim out into the open water.

15. The stickiness of my skin after swimming in the salt water and the sun baking that skin (please note that I am not advocating sunbathing to a crisp-kinda like, do as I say not as I do, uh, did ;) ).

16. Running in the snow.

17. Biting into homemade Kimchee. Spicy!

18. Lying on the floor, headphones on, reading a good book.

19. Glassware. A beautiful piece of glass. I said glass, not ass. Although…

20. Spreading my fingers into a thick spot of paint.

21. Listening to my kids converse with one another. Hearing their laughter.

22. Waking up to music.

23. Playing a piece on the piano without looking at the sheet music.

24. The cello section of any given Philharmonic in any given city.

25. Eating popcorn and Red Vines in a darkened movie theater.

I think I’ll stop here and continue my list later. I’ll stick the rest on my about page where I can access it easily when I need a reminder/kick in the butt.

Love to all, be good, be brave.

—————-
Now playing: Annie Lennox – Smithereens
via FoxyTunes

7 Responses

  1. What a rich and beautiful list! Fabulous!

  2. You’re very thoughtful birthday girl. :)

  3. Nice list.

    Ah the cello section, ¡mi favorito!

    Learning cello has been on my to-do list for 30 years. When I was in elementary school, it was a toss-up between learning oboe or cello, my parents talked me out of cello for some reason.

  4. Ever go to Accuradio.com? If you click the classical link and then any of the main channels, then click the sub-channels tab, there’s an all cello station:
    http://www.accuradio.com/classical/

  5. ha! Ms. Bazl. I’d like to say if one of my children wanted to take up the cello I’d let them but I’d be lying if I said I did. I encouraged the flute.

    Evil auntie that I am, I sent my niece a toy drum set for her birthday once trying to pave the way for her future endeavors. My brother hates me now.

    Thanks for the link! I’ll have to check it out…an all cello station…fantastico!

  6. I started with the flute but after I realized that every other little girl in school also picked the flute I requested a switch to something more unique. My choices were bassoon, oboe, french horn and cello. My hands were too small for bassoon, my friend played french horn and my parents didn’t want the cello – ergo the oboe. I would have loved drums but that was never going to happen.

    I’ve now taken to collecting and playing bamboo flutes from this guy.

    (Gee, if I wrote this much for my own blog I could actually post something now and then.)

  7. :) Ms. Bazl…you shouldn’t worry about the no posting thing. You’re in mommy-land now. ;)

    I’m thinking you should record your flute playing and upload a Youtube thingie. They look pretty cool actually!

Leave a Reply

