Sacred Sunday, On a Monday

Seems I’m always a day late for my postings but, I’m sharing the computer. It’s my turn now! For a short while.

I was saddened to read that Dan Fogelberg has died. He was my first big love in music. Sure there was Donny and David but those were little girl crushes. Dan was actual love. I loved his music, his lyrics, his looks….he had it all. When I was 16 a bunch of us crammed into my father’s Mazda wagon and headed over the Pali to the Waikiki Shell to see him in concert. That year I bought a poster which I’ve kept all these years along with the ticket stub from that night. I had all his albums and continued to grab his concerts whenever he played in town, especially in Denver-I saw him about 4 times. I can hear S, “Again?! You want to go to his concert again?! Didn’t we just see him?!” S knew better than to get between me and my man.

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite Dan Fogelberg songs. It’s appropriate for the season and the circumstances.

Dan Fogelberg-Wandering Shepard

2 Responses

  1. This is the third post I’ve read about him in about 15 minutes. I wasn’t a fan of his music, but clearly many, many were and he obviously had a big impact on his fans. I was saddened to hear of his death…so young.

  2. He was young wasn’t he. He’ll always be the guy on the cover of the Souvenirs album to me.;)

Leave a Reply

