Disappointment

I knew in the back of my mind that the move to South America was not going to be as easy as S was making it out to be, things never are. He’s a “glass is half full” kinda guy, I’m used to the glass being whatever the muckity mucks say it’s going to be-one day full, next day empty. And while I know this  I continually get caught up in S’s energy. It’s difficult not to, his is a positive energy and often times it’s much nicer than my own.

Yesterday even S had to concede to the muckity mucks. In all fairness to him he was told that I could attend language school as long as we picked up any charges associated with the class. We were game! The adventure begins! Then someone told him, “Oops…nope sorry, she can not attend. Your post in South America is an unaccompanied post therefore she can’t sit in on your class.” Now, I’m not sure what the difference is, I was willing to pony up any costs relating to the class so it isn’t like the agency would have to pay my way. Besides, anyone who knows me knows that I can be quiet as a church mouse, I wasn’t planning on disrupting the class or anything. The school was fine with it, it was the agency person who refused to look at the big picture; she booted me out on my ass. Their game, their rules. Tough titty said the kitty.

I was angry, for a bit. Now I’m not. I’m trying to regroup and think of my options. The post is unaccompanied which means that I would not be in S. America with a diplomatic passport. That I understand. If I’m there I’m on my own, I pay my own way. Any problems are mine to deal with alone. That aspect of the adventure isn’t going to change and I accept that.

My problem is with the agency. As far as they are concerned, they don’t have to think about the family left behind. Their concern is the agent and that’s it. I’m going to have to fight for everything else. He’s going to be miles away and I’m going to have to do battle with the administrative types who can’t get anything straight, like the woman who told S I could attend and then changed her mind once she actually read his file which she SHOULD have done in the first place. The family is on the back burner. Yesterday’s incident just jolted me into reality.

It’s going to be a long hard adventure and I’m not sure I have the energy for it. The last 2 1/2 years of living here dealing with all the office folderol has brought me to my knees. It has used up my positive energy leaving my tank empty with nothing in the resevoir. I think of it as living in that TV show, “The Office” only not as funny. I could go on and on but I won’t. I’m recycling that stink energy and turning it into positive energy. Hopefully. I’m trying.

Anyway, I’ve got to teach myself Spanish so I’d better go. LOVE to all. Be good, be brave my keiki!

6 Responses

  1. How can the ‘greatest country in the world’ have such a sucky government??

  2. I know the answer to that one but I’m working on improving my stink energy and turning it into something I’m happy to live with. ;) The biggest thing? I’m getting out of here and I couldn’t be happier about that.

  3. Wow.

    Here’s a free resource that has been helpful to me:

    Destinos

  4. Thanks Lisa. I check it out. I’m finding that I’m mixing the French and Spanish as I conjugate. I’m a bit frustrated about the whole thing.

  5. USDA also has a good language school, and affordable.

  6. Thanks Claire! Right now I’m using Rosetta Stone and going over S’s workbook with him. Not to mention watching Spanish soap operas, those are always fun. My problem is that I’m mixing French with Spanish. And poorly at that.

Leave a Reply

