A Monday Meme

Because my week is going to be hectic, I’m writing now, quickly, crazily, and resorting to a meme, and imagine, I didn’t get this one from DebR! I thought I should give her a break. This one came from ::HERE:: It’s short and sweet and I thank her/him/them?

1) Name an event where the power of the crowd was inspiring.

It was 1976, Easter Sunday sunrise service at Kailua beach. It was a singing service, the sky beautiful and the water calm, gently lapping on the beach. I’ll never forget how the voices of the crowd came together as one, people were harmonizing and hugging one another. I’ll never forget the feeling I carried with me for a long time afterward. It was great.

2) What is your oldest article of clothing that you still wear?

I have a black knitted sweater my maternal grandmother knitted for my father in 1957. I took it from him when I was a kid and never gave it back. Iwore it all the time. I still have it and wear it around the house when the temperature drops. I love that sweater.

3) If you were to describe your first “real” kiss, what would you say?

My first kiss was a gentle one given to me by a very gentle boy. It was a “pretty” kiss, not a sloppy one maybe because he was French, I dunno. I still remember his name and can picture his face surrounded by the curliest hair I’ve ever seen on a boy. But then, I haven’t kissed that many boys/men so I can remember most of my kissing pals, even if I’d like to forget a few of them.

4) When were you most moved by a ceremony?

I went to the funeral of a sheriff in Lake City, Colorado once. It was attended by throngs of people from all factions of the law enforcement community, standing room only. As I stood dwarfed beside many uniformed officers, a few with tears falling on their cheeks, I realized how many of these guys truly care about the work they do and how strongly they feel about the brotherhood they share. It was the most moving yet hardest ceremony (aside from my own mother’s funeral) I’ve ever experienced; the bagpipes did me in.

5) Show and Tell. What comes to mind first when you see this picture? Or, tell a story if it reminds you of one.

Public Domain Photo

Indigestion. Really. I’m not a big eater. I’m more of a snacker. Large amounts of food strewn across a table doesn’t do it for me. I don’t like all-you-can-eat buffets or salad bars. I get fidgety during long drawn-out dinners unless I’m involved in a hotly disputed conversation and even then I have to get up once in a while. What I really see is a pile of dishes to be washed after the food is gone. Sad isn’t it.

Bon! Enjoy the week my keiki. I’ll try to get on sometime, maybe I’ll try writing in Spanish! Actually, don’t hold your breath. I hate to be embarrassed.

Love to all, be good, be brave.

2 Responses

  1. Oooh, look at your pretty new look! Have fun tomorrow!

  2. Thanks Marilyn!

Leave a Reply

