Le Meme

It’s unusual to have me sitting here in the office (yeah, the wireless connection is kaput until I get on the stick) on a Saturday night but the boy-child and his father are watching a war movie and I’m not one to watch war movies. Me, being the only Dove in this Hawkish house I don’t do war movies. Remind me, I’ve got a anecdote about watching “Shut up and Sing” with S and the subsequent conversation about the Dixie Chick ruckus involving the “comment” concerning the war and such things.

There are days ( weeks followed by months) where my vocabulary disappears and my syntax sucks and my ability to get my thoughts across is non-existent. I’m experiencing one of those weeks. I resort to the meme. It’s easy. It’s kinda like throwing a frozen pizza in the oven instead of fixing a nice full square meal. And then there’s the fact that I can be lazy.

Once again, I lean on DebR. Her inner color is yellow which says to me she is a fun loving person and has a loving spirit. Southern style. Personally I think it’s the red hair. I’ve never experienced a red-haired temper but, I’ve always met kind red-haired people. I’m not trying to butter her up, it’s true. I haven’t met a red-haired person I didn’t like. God’s honest truth. Anyhoo.
Le Meme:

A. The rules of the game are posted at the beginning.

B. Each player list 6 facts/habits/secrets about themselves.
C. At the end of the post, the player then tags people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know that they have been tagged and asking them to read your blog. (I’m thinking if you want to tag, tag. If not, play for the sake of play. Play is good. Play is fun. I’m not going to tag because I don’t like putting people on the spot but if you’d like to play, please do!)

Six things:
1) I’m a closet C&W fan. There are exceptions, I don’t like the contemporary stuff but I love bluegrass and the old style gospel stuff and the women of country, Maybelle Carter, Emmylou Harris, Iris Dement and especially Nancy Griffith although you can’t really classify her as country all the time.
2) I would have run away with Yo-Yo Ma if he had asked me when I had the lucky opportunity to shake his hand two yeas ago. His talent is spine-tingling. His cello playing sings to my soul. My family would have understood my leaving. Maybe?! This should be a secret maybe.

3) I must have coffee every morning. I worry about the time when coffee will upset my stomach or something because, I’m that addicted. I worry about being told I can’t have coffee anymore because of my health. I’d give up sex before I’d give up coffee. Well. Not really. But I’d mull it over anyway.

4) I’d run back to Hawaii in a heartbeat. I’d find a place close to my old home and try to make it financially until I’m in my nineties, working at a huge wholesale house like Costco providing snacking samples just for the opportunity to get back to the calm life.

5) I miss my kiddos when they were little. I love them in their maturity but I miss the times when we cuddled and I could sing lullabies to them. I miss throwing them in the car and going on treks to places unknown, just the three of us. Before the world became known to them. I’m selfish that way.

6) I love my husband more than he knows. He THINKS he knows. But he doesn’t. He sees the peri-menopausal woman, he tries to understand the changes but I don’t think he knows how much I love him for the fact that he sees the peri-menopausal woman with all her angst and feeling of loss. He’s a good man.  Actually, he’s a brave man.  I’m a lucky girlie.

Drop me a comment if you’ve played the meme! I love to read Le meme!

Love to all. Be good. Be brave.

3 Responses

  1. These were fun to read!

    Where did you live in Hawaii? I’ve only ever visited (and that only once – so far) but I loved it there.

  2. In lieu of doing it myself, I’ll just copy your list… ;)

    1. I love country music, including a lot of current stuff. (But then, I like pretty much everything except head-banging rock.)
    2. Yo-Yo Ma’s son was my last employer’s daughter’s boyfriend for awhile when they were at Harvard. (Did you follow that?)
    3. I ‘should’ get back on decaf. I love coffee, too…don’t even care about the caffeine…just love the taste and smell.
    4. I’ve never been to Hawaii, but my mother lived on Kauai for 6 months. She shipped 9,000 books and a grand piano over there…and only stayed 6 months. (I might be leaning toward your husband’s side re shipping the books to South America.) ;)
    5. I miss the young years with my nieces. I love them still, of course…but, oh (sigh), the toddler years were best.
    6. I could probably say the same thing. Perimenopause isn’t an easy time, to be sure. Years ago, when we were living in Portland, we stumbled upon an Oprah show about menopause. I kept going (up the dial), but he said, “Wait! I wanna watch that!” When it was over he said, “So I’m guessing menopause will be like living with you when you haven’t had any coffee…” :)

  3. Thanks Deb! I appreciate the thoughtful feedback. My formative years were spent in Kailua, on the windward side of Oahu. I left after college because I got married and the man wanted to live on the mainland. How crazy is THAT?! It is a mesmerizing place isn’t it. :)

    Marilyn! You’re so sweet to play. :) I enjoyed reading your six things! I did follow that! If Yo Yo’s son has a smile that lights up a room just like his father’s, your employer’s daughter was a lucky girl! I don’t have nearly as many books as your mom. I need to buy more. One can never have too many books. She’s my idol. I need to buy more. You get that way without coffee too?! I don’t feel so “out there” now. ;)

Leave a Reply

