SPC-What You Wear

My mother was a fashionista. She was always coiffed, dressed beautifully and ready to go when she came from her bedroom in the morning. She loved fashion and was a whiz with a sewing machine. I always wondered how it was that Jackie O seemed to dress like my mother. I thought my mother a beauty queen. My mother’s Dior knock-offs were spectacular! Of course, many mothers dressed like Jackie in the day. It’s what they did.

I can’t say that I’ve followed in my mother’s footsteps. I like comfort. I like shoes without heels, I live in Gortex running clothes even though I no longer run the miles and I choose the long-sleeve tee over the frilly chemise every time. The last time I wore a dress it was for the job; I often wished that the Court could look the other way at my Levis and Danskos because that’s what I’d be wearing if given the chance. It was California after all.

These days I can live in my robe if I like. Fortunately for my fashion conscious daughter, I don’t. (The fashion thing, it must skip a generation) However, for giggles, it just so happens that I’m wearing my favorite robe right now. I’ll start the month this way and work my way up the fashion ladder. I can hear my daughter in the back of my mind, gasping in horror, “OH MY GAWD, she’s even wearing those Crocs…look away, look away!”

spc-nov-6-2007.jpg

Bear gets it. We had a nice fashion discussion over coffee-he doesn’t care what I wear just as long as he gets his kibble.

Enjoy the day my keiki. Love to all.

Click ::the link:: for better fashion sense. I’m sure.

4 Responses

  1. So what’s wrong with CROCS?!

  2. :) For me, nothin’, I wear them as house slippers every day. But, I’m not a 17 year old girl with definite ideas of what should or should not be worn outside the house for all the world to see. I’m WAAY beyond shame apparently. ;)

  3. I love that my dogs don’t care if I wear socks with sandals or ill fitting bras or a tiara on my head!
    marni

  4. Oh the tiara! I must bust mine out of storage! Dogs are great aren’t they?! :)

Leave a Reply

