Cette Jeune Alouette and other things.

cette-jeune-alouette.jpg

My mother at age three.

Watercolor, ephemera & charcoal on 140lb cold press paper

I’m working on little trinkets for stocking-stuffers.  I’m having one  of those days where I’m putting off the important stuff like the move and puttering around in the basement. I should start making lists and organizing my thoughts about the move. But, I did say that I was going to write about it today so I suppose I should follow through.

We’re moving to South America or should I say, S is being transferred to South America. Whether I follow him is another story. I haven’t actually wrapped my head around this development but there it is. I don’t speak Spanish. I like my things. I need my hair colored, eye-brows waxed and pedicures once in a while. I knew there was a chance he would go but as in all things governmental, normally I don’t hold my breath until the outcome. Nothing is quite as it seems where the government is concerned. I didn’t think it was going to happen so I’ve been living life in blissful ignorance without a second thought about South America. It’s true what they say, if you don’t dwell on things, they come to you. In spades.

Hectic. It’s going to be hectic in the next few months. Oy. That’s Spanish isn’t it? Oy? One less thing I have to learn. Heh.

Moving to South America is exciting. I love an adventure, I do. It’s just that I want to make sure things are fine with Miss J for her first year in college. Not only that, if she gets accepted to HPU like she wants I’ll be forced to go with her. And boy will that be hard for me her. She can handle it. Of course she can.

What to do, what to do. I’m being facetious. Of COURSE I’d go to Hawaii. I suppose I can live without male companionship for a few years. Not a biggie. A college freshman and her mother. In Hawaii. Miss J’d love it. Pppffftt. I’m kidding. Kinda.

The next few months will prove exciting! Or angst ridden. One of the two.

4 Responses

  1. Oooh, South America…intriguing…

  2. Sorry, not Spanish, Oy would be Yiddish – from “Oy vey.”

  3. Forgot to mention that there is a Spanish word which sounds like “oy” spelled “hoy,” it means today.

    And wow, move to South America, which country?

  4. Darn, I was hoping this learning the Spanish thing wasn’t going to be too difficult. Oy vey. :)

Leave a Reply

